Reference Librarian

I love reference.  I have fallen head over heels with the subject.  Last semester I did an observation at a small local college for a project, and fell even more in love with the profession (Art?  Science?  I think good reference is both an art and a science).

Refrence and Information

Via, Flickr. Used under a CC license, click through to source.

A month ago, the director of this library emailed me and asked if I would like to take a temporary job working the reference desk, and then apply for the full time position.  Abandoning the job security of my (non-library) student job, I jumped on the opportunity.  I would be paid to do something I dearly loved.

I am being paid to do a job I love.  I have been there for two and a half weeks, and I love my students.  The library is small, but it does its best to serve the students, staff, professors, and guests.  As I believe that the library should be for the users, (always, always, always.  It is their library.  I just work in it.)  This thrills me.

I work with traditional, adult students, and underprepared students.  They range from being adept at searching, to students who have never used a database or catalog.  I delight in all of them!  I find this to be a very satisfying job, and I know I belong working reference.

I am almost done with my cover letter and updated resume.  I am gathering my references as I speak, and I think I have a fighting chance at the job.

One thought on “Reference Librarian

  1. All you have to do is get the interview. Honestly. Just get the interview, and show them the passion you have and they’d be insane to not give it to you!

Leave a Reply

